Architectural Landmarks in Singapore

The history of architecture in Singapore can be traced back to 1819 and the foundation of a trading port by the British East India Company. As a result of its strategic location, Singapore became a melting pot of cultures, which is reflected in its architectural heritage. The earliest architectural styles in Singapore were influenced by the colonial powers that ruled the island. The British brought with them neoclassical, Georgian and Victorian styles which can be seen in buildings such as the Old Parliament House, St. Andrew's Cathedral and the Raffles Hotel. In the early 20th century, the Art Deco movement swept through Singapore, with the Capitol Theatre being a prime example. After World War II, Singapore underwent a period of rapid modernization and urbanization, leading to the rise of buildings in the Brutalist style. Notable examples of Brutalist architecture in Singapore include the People's Park Complex and Golden Mile Tower. Today, Singapore is known for its avant-garde and sustainable architecture, with iconic structures such as the Marina Bay Sands, Gardens by the Bay and the Jewel Changi Airport.

Sri Mariamman Temple
1843, 1862 - 1863
Victoria Theatre and Concert Hall
1862, 1903 - 1906
Asian Civilizations Museum
1864 - 1867
National Museum of Singapore
1887, 2006
Vanguard Building
Peranakan Museum
The Fullerton Hotel Singapore
1924 - 1928
Sultan Mosque
1925 - 1928
National Gallery Singapore
1929, 1939, 2015
Capitol Theatre Singapore
Old Hill Street Police Station
UOB Plaza
1973, 1992
OCBC Centre
Furama City Centre Hotel
Ritz-Carlton Millenia Singapore
Esplanade - Theatres on the Bay
1996 - 2002
Parkview Square
1999 - 2002
Singapore Supreme Court
2000 - 2005
Buddha Tooth Relic Temple
Helix Bridge
2007 - 2010
Marina Bay Sands
Reflections at Keppel Bay
Gardens by the Bay
Parkroyal Collection Pickering
Oasia Hotel Downtown
Red Dot Design Museum Singapore
Fort Canning Tree Tunnel
SMU School of Law Building
Duo Towers
Changi Airport
1981, Jewel 2019
Capitaspring Tower
2018 - 2022
Back to Top