The National Museum of Singapore is the oldest museum in the country, dedicated to preserving and showcasing the rich cultural and historical heritage of Singapore.
The museum's distinctive two-storey building on Stamford Road was originally constructed in 1887 for the Raffles Library and Museum, and has since undergone several renovations and expansions. The most recent renovation, taking 3 years and completed in 2006, preserved and restored the building's original neoclassical façade and grand entrance hall, while adding modern elements such as glass and steel with a new annexe block to create a seamless and visually stunning integration of old and new.
The museum building was designed by the Public Works Department and architect H. E. McCallum and declared a National Monument in 1992. The museum visit starts in the luminous grand rotunda where the ticket office is located. The museum galleries are arranged thematically, exploring different aspects of Singapore's history and culture, from its pre-colonial past to its modern-day achievements.
During the 2003-2006 renovations, the 50 pieces of victorian glass with their floral and grid patterns were removed and thoroughly cleaned. They now shine again in vibrant colours.
Besides exhibition galleries, the new annexe also features a restaurant and event spaces. The glass connector between the front and read blocks now allows views of the museum's historic dome.