Schloss Oberhofen was built in the 13th century on the shores of Lake Thun. Its dimensions back then were 11 by 12.5 meters and its walls were 2 meters thick. It is a museum since 1954.
The Pourtalès family purchased the castle in 1844 and, between 1849 and 1852 renovated and expanded it, giving it its current appearance. The plans for the renovations were by Swiss architect James Colin from Neuchâtel. Colin also added a new wing with a picturesque tower. The water tower was built in 1895 by Helene Pourtales based on drawings by her husband, the German painter Ferdinand von Harrach.
The castle chapel was consecrated in 1473.
The oriental smoking room was designed by architect Theodor Zeerleder for Count Albert de Pourtalès and completed in 1855. Located in the highest room of the castle, its windows offer wonderful views over the lake.
Schloss Oberhofen is located inside a vast park, also part of the renovations in the 1850's to plans by James Colin. The park includes two chalets.