The Olympic Museum in Lausanne, the Olympic Capital, was founded under the leadership of IOC President Juan Antonio Samaranch and inaugurated on June 23, 1993. It received the European Museum of the Year award in 1995 and, with more than 250000 yearly visitors, is the second most visited museum in Switzerland.
While its permanent exhibition showcases the development of the modern Olympic Games through, for example, a display of the Olympic Torches and the different sporting equipments over time, it also regularly features temporary exhibitions related to current Olympic events. The temporary exhibitions can be visited for free.
The Olympic Museum is located inside the Olympic Park right next to the Léman.
The building was designed by Pedro Ramírez Vázquez, Jean-Pierre Cahen and Miguel Espinet in the style of classical modernism.
A spiral ramp connects the different levels of the museum.
The lower floor of the museum, the last one to visit, contains a large interactive area !
The building has been completely renovated by Swiss architects Brauen Wälchli Architectes and Tekhne SA in 2013, increasing the exhibition space from 2000 square meters to 3000 square meters.
The museum's restaurant, the TOM Café, has beautiful views of the Lake and the mountains.
The park around the museum contains statues by various artists.
The museum administration is located inside the Villa Olympique, originally built in 1927 to plans by Walter Baumann.