The Canadian War Museum was formally established in 1942. Today, there are over 3 million artefacts and documents in its collection and it has around 500,000 visitors each year.
Its current building in Ottawa was designed by Moriyama & Teshima Architects in joint venture with Griffiths Rankin Cook Architects. It opened to the public on May 6, 2005, on the 60th anniversary of the end of World War II.
The large glass facade allows views inside the museum. The windows inside the tower spell "lest we forget n'oublions jamais" in Morse code.
The museum building is immersed into the surrounding landscape and a pedestrian walkway passes over its roof.